Tom’s Diner

Yes, that takes me back…..

So having played around with the various farming and restaurant elements on QQ, (all in Chinese 😆 ), I decided I wanted to try setting up a restaurant of my own on there. None of the attached farms and factories, just the restaurant element.

Why ?  Because that’s the bit that has the design element as well, and I love playing around with that part of it. (See later, below)

Eventually Amanda set me up with my own ID and a starter restaurant. Well, what else could I call it ?…

Tom's Diner

Tom's Diner (Click for full size picture if you want)

That’s me having a quiet word in the waitress’s ear, and Amanda doing the cooking with a silly mask on.

It’s only very basic at the moment (because it’s only been open 36 hours), but from little acorns etc. etc.

Eventually the plan will be to have something like Amanda’s (design by yours truly), but that’s a couple of months down the road yet.

Amanda's Restaurant

Amanda's Restaurant

As you can see, although all the restaurants are actually on just one level I’ve been playing around with the perspective effects you can achieve by careful utilisation of the available pieces. Click on the pic for a full screen version to get the full effect. I’ve actually seen designs that appear to have four different levels on a board of about the same size as Amanda’s, although whether they work particularly well from a gameplay point of view is probably another matter. (Reminder to self: Must have a word to Amanda about that cleaner ! )

I’m also working on field designs within Farmerama, although the recent Alien Visit challenge forced me to temporarily abandon what I was working on there in favour of making a tidy profit on the Cow market. 😀

Such a busy life….

2 Responses to “Tom’s Diner”

  1. Kikipotamus the Hobo Says:

    Oh, my gosh. I had totally forgotten about that song. I had Suzanne Vega’s cassette and I used to play it over and over. I think Tom’s Diner is one of the most brilliant a capella performances ever. Plus I love poetry and lyrics that bring out the mystical quality of quotidian experience. I can picture myself in Toronto getting ready to head off to my practicum on the subway. Good luck with your restaurant!

    • honorarynewfie Says:

      I agree, Kelly, there’s an honesty in the lyrics that tells you it’s based on real experiences. That lends itself so well to being performed a capella; it’s even more believable.


Leave a comment