My own personal version of Desert Island Discs, Track 4, “Qué Será” or (“Che sarà”)

What ?!

Yes it’s a strange mix this little collection of mine, and still no Motown, Elvis, 12,000 piece orchestra, or “Big Band”. Don’t worry, they’re coming, maybe…

But until then, José Montserrate Feliciano García, (José Feliciano to you and me) who I only actually discovered today, is blind.

Back in 1971 I went on my first ever foreign holiday, a package holiday in C’an Pastilla, Mallorca. My friend Harry Butt (are you out there Harry ?) was supposed to come with me, but he chickened out so I went on my own.

I had a great time even so and, as is always the case with summer holidays, there was one song being played everywhere you went. This particular year it was “Qué Será” by José Feliciano.

Even today my knowledge of Spanish is somewhat limited, to say the least; back then it consisted of just two words but, just like the woman on one of the Asian versions of “X Factor” or “Somewhere’s got talent”, by the end of the two weeks I could sing the whole of this song, word perfect. It’s true ! 😉

Anyway, the record was duly purchased from one of the shops down near the beach and Mum and Dad were plagued by it for months.

I can’t even say for certain what it is that I like about it so much, it’s just one of those records that fits somewhere back in the mists of time.

There were a number of live performances to pick from on YouTube but to be honest with you, based on the selection available, JF don’t seem to be too hawt a live performer. 😦

So instead this video, which features the studio version that I like so much, has the added benefit of some nice photography. 😉

Enjoy.

Previous tracks in the series:

Track 3 – You can call me Al

Track 2 – We’ve only just begun

Track 1 – Saltwater Joys.

2 Responses to “My own personal version of Desert Island Discs, Track 4, “Qué Será” or (“Che sarà”)”

  1. eideard Says:

    1971, eh? I went to my first proper football match. At the very beginning of a hiking and hillwalking vacation which took me from Scotland to Italy.

    Auld Firm Derby which Celtic won.

    • honorarynewfie Says:

      Welcome aboard Eideard, it’s good to see you. 🙂
      Even got the “Auld Firm” bit right after all this time; I’m impressed !
      Of course you do realise that if Rangers had won you’d have been barred from this blog. 😉
      That’s some hike (!), and it certainly covered some hill walking.
      Have just had a quick trawl around on your blog, and I think I’ll be a regular visitor.
      O.M.G. …. I’ve just read your reply to my comment on your blog…. unbelievable !
      Can we continue this conversation over the weekend by email ? (I have some charity work to finish off this evening.)


Leave a Reply

