Have you ever been eaten by fish ?

Hmmm, surprisingly it seems I might actually be able to post while I’m in China… I certainly couldn’t last year !
Have so many stories to tell and pictures to show from this trip that it will take me ages to catch up when I get home.
Anyway, we went to the Gentle Uptown Hot Spring Spa on the outskirts of Nanning yesterday where, apart from doing things like having my first ever proper sauna, we sat / lay in a pool with lots of little fish that nibble at your skin. What an incredible sensation ! Well worth the extra 20 RMB per person.
They always head straight for your feet when you first get in, but then they do work their way all over you. Apart from the tickling that your feet get, their little teeth are sometimes quite sharp and you feel like you want to swat them like flies.
Will definitely have to go back on every trip. I want more of this 🙂

Tom having his feet nibbled by fish

A fishy feast

Amanda gets the fishy treatment

They liked Amanda too

2 Responses to “Have you ever been eaten by fish ?”

  1. Kikipotamus Says:

    Ok, this is TOO bizarre. Two or three nights ago I was telling Sylvain about going for a dip in some swimming hole in Arkansas and having little fish come up and nip at my legs. He had never heard of such a thing. I told him it felt kind of cool to have them come ping up against you. Imagine my surprise when I saw this blog post! I had no idea there were places you paid to have this happen. What a great way to exfoliate, eh?

  2. honorarynewfie Says:

    Hi Kelly,
    Yes it’s certainly a treat for the skin. I didn’t know you could get it for free (although logically speaking it has to be possible). Shame the UK climate means that I would have to travel the world to get a free session. 😉
    By the way, more WordPress problems… all your comments are going to my spam folder lately which is why it’s taking me a while to approve them. Will have to do some serious research on all this WP stuff when I get home.


Leave a Reply

