What is this bug ?

I was standing around outside the office yesterday having a smoke break and I happened to spot a little creature wandering across one of the leaves of some dogwood.  At first I thought it was a spider, but when I looked closer I realised it wasn’t.

I peered closely at the little blighter for a minute or two and thought to myself… “Wow … you’re weird !”

Now I used to have an acre and a half of wild garden to look after, so I’ve seen a fair few of the critters that Britain has to offer, but this one was new to me.

Very small, about 6mm long, generally dark grey to black with greyish wings on its back that were “joined” along the top of its spine while not in use, but with two very distinctive features…  firstly its head was red, or at least a reddish orange colour… secondly its front legs were dead straight but with a white band around the middle.  (Now OK, on reflection it is possible that these were antennae and that it actually had little front legs that were obscured from my view, but these antennae seemed to be performing the walking function.)

I have to be honest here and say that my drawing ability is probably something worse that of the little bug itself, but here is a representation of it….

What is this strange little bug ?

What is this strange little bug ?

I would really like to know what this is because I’ve never seen one before and I can’t find anything similar on the internet.

Any suggestions please (other than art lessons) ?

Leave a Reply

