The Late Humphrey Lyttleton

It is with great sadness that I heard the news of the passing of Humphrey Lyttleton.

Although Jazz has never really been my kind of music, ( all the right notes, but played in the wrong order ), I came to love him as the compere of BBC Radio 4’s “I’m Sorry I Haven’t a Clue”.

The game of Mornington Crescent which I initiated in my last post as a “Get Well Soon” message now becomes a tribute to this immensely funny character.

Any passing bloggers are welcome to join in, even if you don’t understand the rules, and I may initiate a “Tribute Tournament” if enough interest is shown.

R.I.P. Humph, and thank you for all the tears of laughter.

4 Responses to “The Late Humphrey Lyttleton”

  1. CW Says:

    A gentleman and a scholar now gone to the great Mornington Crescent in the sky! Radio comedy panel games will never be the same again.
    RIP Humph.

  2. honorarynewfie Says:

    Thank you CW, if you fancy joining in the “Tribute game” as a mark of respect.. then please feel free.

    Wasn’t he just special ?

    One super guy.

  3. niq Says:

    re: your comment (May 9th) on my blog: no harm done. I’m well aware of the unpredictable ways of akismet: indeed, I’d blogged about it a couple of days earlier ( http://bahumbug.wordpress.com/2008/05/06/hyperactive-akismet/ )

  4. honorarynewfie Says:

    Thanks for the understanding, niq.

    The good news is that I did actually get an e-mail saying that your comment was awaiting moderation… so at least something is working right again. 🙂

    Hope springs eternal.


Leave a Reply

