Mornington Crescent – “Humph” Tribute Game

In a momentary break from the trials and tribulations of the past few days I happened to notice, on my daughters slimming site message board that she had left open on the computer, that Humphrey Lyttleton has been taken ill.

The marvellous host of my favourite radio show “I’m Sorry I Haven’t a Clue” is in hospital at the moment, poorly sick.  Get well soon you old critter.

My version of a “get well card” is to initiate a game of “Mornington Crescent” on my blog (not original, but quick to do).

We are playing to the rules as set down in Holztenstein’s “Crescent Revisited”, (abridged 1981 edition), and I shall go first.

Limehouse

Over to you, people, and please sign off each of your moves with “Get well soon Humph”

Note: Since the announcement of Humph’s passing on 25th April this has now become a Tribute Game, so please sign off each move with “R.I.P. Humph“.

12 Responses to “Mornington Crescent – “Humph” Tribute Game”

  1. Abbadon Says:

    How does one play???

    “Get well soon Humph”

  2. Abbadon Says:

    Okay, I’ll give it a go. I Googled it because I’m an impatient bastard. You’ll have to tell me if I’m doing it right, though.

    Goodge Street.

    “Get well soon Humph”

  3. honorarynewfie Says:

    Hi Mark, welcome to the game mate. 🙂

    But I’m sorry, that’s the sort of elementary mistake made by people who try to get to grip with the nuances of the gameplay in just 4 minutes of Google time.

    You leave me right open to play …

    Acton Town

    Perhaps a little more thought before you next move ?

    R.I.P.Humph

  4. niq Says:

    honorarynewfie, that only works as a killer move if you’re playing reverse-counterclockwise variants, for which Humph had no time. Since we’re playing elegiac rules, I can now move:

    Highgate Cemetary

    Requiescat in your own pace, Humph.

  5. midgetgems Says:

    Hmm … Acton Town is a bit edgy considering it’s Holztenstein rules so anything under Regency Jurisdiction will be off limits … actually wait, are we talking the Queenie Holztenstein rules or the Babs? Obviously Museum Street would stump everyone if they were unwittingly potholed.

  6. midgetgems Says:

    And my RIP Humph is written. I only came here for moral support after a comment.

  7. honorarynewfie Says:

    Hi MG, and welcome to the game.
    You’ve obviously played before 🙂
    Definitely Babs, otherwise my last move would have been a Flying Hebditch and penalised accordingly.
    The Health and Safety Executive banned Potholing in 2001 on account of the ever-increasing number of injuries.
    Consider the moral support well and duly transmitted, and keep on smiling.

  8. midgetgems Says:

    Well then, Babs…. that little pub by Land Of Leather … Babraham Rd., surely.

  9. honorarynewfie Says:

    Babs rules, ok ? But sorry, Babraham Road puts you offside. I’m afraid you have to miss a go for that. Are you quite sure you understand the rules ?

  10. Mark Says:

    Okay, I’m lost.

    Bad news about Lyttleton…

  11. CW Says:

    Ok, here’s my first move: Finchley Central

  12. honorarynewfie Says:

    Welcome CW.

    I think that move is a little dated, first performed by Leibnitz in the final at Harrogate in 1927 I believe.

    Various greater minds than ours have concluded that it is easily parried by…

    Pimlico

    … and I must admit, I have to agree with them.

    R.I.P. Humph.


Leave a Reply

