Personality Test

I took a personality test today.

I had followed a link from the wordpress front page, then another link…. and ended up at kikipotamus the hobo‘s blog which had a link to the test under Fun Stuff.

Apparantly (so the site claims) the test is based on the work of a Dr. Max Lûscher and is quite extensively used.

So anyway, in I went.  The test was very simple to perform, being based purely on selecting colours in order…. but the results were amazingly accurate !!

This is what it said about me, along with my own observations on those results….


The Test Says

Tom Says

My Existing Situation
Avoids excessive effort and needs roots, security, and peaceful companionship.
I’ll come back to the bit about effort later.
Yes, I need roots…. Yes, I need security…. Yes, I need peaceful companionship.
May be physically unwell, in need of gentle handling and considerate treatment. How on earth does it know that I am physically unwell and need gentle handling and considerate treatment ?… I didn’t tell it about my accident !

My Stress Sources
Seeks independence and freedom from any restriction and therefore avoids obligations or anything which might prove hampering.
It is true that I always work best when I am “given my head” and my creativeness is allowed to flow.  This is when I do my best thinking and produce the best results.It could also be said that, in the past, I have been inclined to desire lots of freedom within relationships.  Not sexual freedom, but time freedom.
He is being subjected to considerable pressure and wants to escape from it so that he can obtain what he needs, but tends to lack the necessary strength of purpose to succeed in this.
This is very true since the accident.  The pressure comes from being unable to work and, therefore, earn a decent living.  The lack of strength of purpose comes from my inability to initiate actions or to concentrate properly on them once I have.

My Restrained Characteristics
Trying to calm down and unwind after a period of over-agitation which has left him listless and devoid of energy.
Whilst I am trying to tell myself that I am calm and unwound, I recognise that the pressure of the past 18 months has taken its toll.  My get-up-and-go does seem to have got-up-and-gone some times.
In need of peace and quiet; becomes irritable if this is denied him.
Yes, I have always liked to exist in a reasonably quiet atmosphere (except in a football crowd or at a darts match) and I am inclined to get ratty if my “personal space” is invaded for any length of time… especially by children ! Grrrrrr !!
Willing to become emotionally involved as he feels rater isolated and alone.
I always seek emotional involvement, both by way of relationships and by emotional involvement in the things I am trying to achieve.  The current lack of emotional involvement in my life, in any form, is making me feel more isolated and lonely than normal.  I suppose my blogging is, in a way, a way of seeking to address the loneliness issue.
Egocentric and therefore quick to take offense, though he tries to avoid open conflict.
I try to deny the egocentric tag, but without a great deal of success.  Open conflict is the last resort, and experience dictates that it is a horrible and debilitating state in which to find oneself.

My Desired Objective
Needs a change in his circumstances or in his relationships which will permit relief from stress.
Oh Alleluia !   Please !!Personal circumstances and lack of a close relationship… both are driving me nuts !
Seeking a solution which will open up new and better possibilities and allow hopes to be fulfilled.
Well I am starting a “work prep” scheme next week which, daunting as it now seems, might actually be a step in the right direction.  As far as hopes are concerned, well there are so many things I hope for… so for any of them to be fulfilled would be nice. (There’s that word again!)

My Actual Problem
Feels restricted and prevented from progressing; seeking a solution which will remove these limitations.
Since the accident… always.  Am seeking a solution, but am not sure where it will be found.

My Actual Problem #2
The tensions induced by trying to cope with conditions which are really beyond his capabilities, or reserves of strength, have led to considerable anxiety and a sense of personal (but unadmitted) inadequacy.
This is true in many ways.  The one thing I will say is that… were I to have been in a relationship with a loving and caring person at the time of the accident, someone who had known what I was like before it happened, then I am sure my recovery would have been far more advanced than it is.  Yes, there is a sense of inadequacy, but that is because I have achieved very few of the targets I set myself when I embarked on my new life… two days before the accident !
He reacts by seeking outside confirmation of his ability and value in order to bolster his self-esteem.
This could be why I feel the need to comment on so many other peoples’ blogs.  I suppose I am seeking their approval in response to the things I say in order that these strangers can give me a boost.  It would be so much easier if I had someone I could interact with on a personal level.
Inclined to blame others so that he may shift the blame from himself.
This is something that, I suppose, I am inclined to do occasionally when things go wrong.  However, I have lived in a “blame culture” with that bitch who was as mad as a box of frogs, and it is the most vile and abhorrent form of existence imaginable.  It is one thing to not quite admit all ones true reponsibilities… but it is quite another to sling the s**t at anyone and everyone rather than admit, even in the slightest possible degree, that oneself might be ever so slightly at fault… just a little bit…   No chance, mad cow !
Anxiously searching for solutions and prone to compulsive inhibitions and compulsive desires.
Very anxiously searching for solutions.  Do I have compulsive desires ?  I have lived with them all my life.But what are compulsive inhibitions ?  I just don’t have the mental capacity to tackle that phrase at the moment.  Can anyone explain it to me ?

Okay, so I know that a lot of what the test results said could apply to lots of people.  Such is the way of these things.  But there does seem to be an extraordinarily high content of things which do apply to me and, more specifically, to my current situation.

I said at the beinning that I would come back to effort.  I do make an effort… I try very hard at lots of things.  I’ve always been a “work hard, play hard” kind of person and have suffered for that over the years .  “Avoids excessive effort”… I wouldn’t say so, but if there’s a physically easier way of doing something I would much rather take that option.  But effort can be expended in many ways and take differing forms, and with that in mind I think that I sometimes try too hard, and put too much effort into things.  I suppose it’s a subjective thing.

So, what have I learnt from this exercise ?

Well, I now know that it not really worth trying to hide the truth about myself because it seems it will show itself just by the choices I make in everyday life.

Also it has helped to affirm my belief that I really do need to find someone to share my life with.  It would appear that not only do I need someone, but I actually need someone.  How I am likely to react to that thought remains to be seen.  I wonder if there are any clues in the test results ?

ColorQuiz.com Tom took the free ColorQuiz.com personality test!“Needs a change in his circumstances or in his relationships.”Click here to read the rest of the results, then why not take the test yourself.

One Response to “Personality Test”

  1. anne marie Says:

    Addressing the issues at last!!!! Well done! Am I allowed to say, ‘I told you so’? Lol. You are a wonderful, beautiful man, and I hope and pray that one day you’ll believe me.
    Sorry about any errors – I have a snake up my sleeve. xxxxxxxxxx


Leave a Reply

